Welcome To The History Of The Caribbean

  • Colombia
  • Aruba
  • Barbados
  • Dominica
  • Antigua and Barbuda
    Antigua and Barbuda
  • Bahamas
  • Anguilla
  • Cayman Islands
    Cayman Islands
  • British Virgin Islands
    British Virgin Islands
  • Cuba
  • Grenada
  • Guadeloupe
  • Haiti
  • Honduras
  • Dominican Republic
    Dominican Republic
  • Martinique
  • Mexico
  • Monsterrat
  • Navassa Island
    Navassa Island
  • Jamaica
  • Nicaragua
  • Puerto Rico
    Puerto Rico
  • St. Kitts and Nevis
    St. Kitts and Nevis
  • St. Lucia
    St. Lucia
  • Netherlands Antilles
    Netherlands Antilles
  • Trinidad and Tobago
    Trinidad and Tobago
  • Turks and Caicos Islands
    Turks and Caicos Islands
  • Venezuela
  • U.S. Virgin Islands
    U.S. Virgin Islands
  • St. Vincent and the Grenadines
    St. Vincent and the Grenadines

The Caribbean (Dutch: Cariben or Caraïben, or more commonly Antillen; French:  Caraïbe or more commonly Antilles; Spanish: Caribe) is a region of the Americas consisting of the Caribbean Sea, its islands (most of which enclose the sea), and the surrounding coasts. The region is located southeast of North America, east of Central America, and to the north and west of South America.

Situated largely on the Caribbean Plate, the area comprises more than 7,000 islands, islets, reefs, and cays. The West Indies consist of the Antilles, divided into the larger Greater Antilles which bound the sea on the north and the Lesser Antilles on the south and east (including the Leeward Antilles), and the Bahamas. Geopolitically, the West Indies are usually reckoned as a subregion of North America and are organised into 28 territories including sovereign states, overseas departments, and dependencies. At one time, there was a short-lived country called the Federation of the West Indies composed of ten English-speaking Caribbean territories.

The Caribbean islands are an island chain 2,500 miles (4,020 km) long and no more than 160 miles (257 km) wide at any given point. They enclose the Caribbean Sea.

In the English-speaking Caribbean, someone from the Caribbean is usually referred to as a "West Indian," although the rather cumbersome phrase "Caribbean person" is sometimes used.

The Geography And Climate

The geography and climate in the Caribbean region varies from one place to another. Some islands in the region have relatively flat terrain of non-volcanic origin. Such islands include Aruba, Bahamas, Barbados, Bonaire, the Cayman Islands or Antigua. Others possess rugged towering mountain-ranges like the islands of Cuba, the British Virgin Islands, Dominica, Hispaniola, Jamaica, Montserrat, Puerto Rico, Saba, Saint Kitts, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines and Trinidad and Tobago.
    Diagram of The Tradewinds In Operation 

The climate of the region mainly ranges between sub-tropical to tropical and depends a great deal upon location in proximity to the tradewinds from the Atlantic. The tradewinds blow towards the Eastern Caribbean islands heading northwest up the chain of Windward islands.

When the tradewinds arrive close to the island of Cuba they tend to be overcome by other minor jet streams across the Caribbean region.

In the waters of the Caribbean Sea, the region can be found to host migratory, large schools of fish, turtles and coral reef formations.

The Puerto Rico trench, located on the fringe of the Atlantic Ocean and Caribbean Sea just to the north of the island of Puerto Rico, is said to be the deepest point in the entire Atlantic Ocean.

In the majority of cases, hurricanes which at times batter the region usually strike northwards of Grenada, and to the west of Barbados. The principal hurricane belt arcs to northwest of the island of Barbados in the Eastern Caribbean.

      The Islands That Make Up The Caribbean

There are 30 Islands that form the Caribbean Region - they are listed on the right. To go the specific island that you would like to learn the history of, please select the name of the that island and you will be taken straight to that island's history. 

Please note - the Caribbean is a vast region and we simply couldn't list all the many islands that actually form part of the region. For a full breakdown of every island in the region - please follow this link.

1 Anguilla
2 Antigua and Barbuda
3 Aruba
4 Bahamas
5 Barbados
6 British Virgin Islands
7 Cayman Islands
8 Colombia
9 Cuba
10 Dominica
11 Dominican Republic
12 Grenada
13 Guadeloupe
14 Haiti
15 Honduras
16 Jamaica

17 Martinique
18 México
19 Montserrat
20 Navassa Island
21 Netherlands Antilles
22 Nicaragua
23 Puerto Rico
24 St. Kitts and Nevis
25 St. Lucia
26 St. Vincent and the Grenadines
27 Trinidad and Tobago
28 Turks and Caicos
29 United States Virgin Islands
30 Venezuela

Oops! This site has expired.

If you are the site owner, please renew your premium subscription or contact support.